top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLeAnne

Semana 3: Un día en la vida

Coming at ya live from Montevideo, Uruguay!


This week I'm switching things up a bit and giving you an insight into the daily life here in Montevideo. I was inspired to do this when Barbara (my step mom) and Debsta (family friend) gave me a call to ask me about the in's and out's of my day. It made me realize that even though I've shared a lot about my experiences, I haven't really given you a look into the other (more boring perhaps) stuff. So here we go!


Monday/Lunes:

My typical monday schedule is a lot busier that my other days. I start the day off with breakfast and get on the 145 bus to head to Pocitos where the University is located. My first class, Latin American Cuisine, which starts at 10 AM consists of me and 4 other students. So far we've made empanadas, home-made pasta, and tortas de jamon y queso (ham and cheese) and espinaca (spinach). The little lady who is our teacher is filled with SO much spunk and energy, it never fails to put me in a good mood and sets the tone for my week to come. After cuisine I get a 2 hour break to work on homework and relax before my composition and conversation classes. My conversation class is always entertaining and a good way to learn a a lot of new words and phrases you might not learn in your typical class, we pretty much just sit in a circle and talk about random events and topics. After classes I usually get back on the bus and head home for dinner. Occasionally I take the afternoon to get some ice cream with friends and explore the near by parks.


Tuesday/Martes:

Tuesdays are a lot more laid back and less eventful. I don't have class until 2 pm, so I head off to the gym to get in a workout before. I usually still have a decent amount of time left until class so I'll finish up any last minute homework or spend the rest of the time reading and writing until I have to leave. Tuesday's are hands down one of my favorite days because I'm motivated to get up and get stuff done before class. I rarely ever have down time to read and write in the states so it's been a breath of fresh air to be able to do things I used to enjoy so much.


Wednesday/Miercoles:

No class Wednesday!! All about relaxation in the middle of the week, it's a nice refresher to push through the rest of my week. I usually start the day off with a visit to my gym. I usually am a little more eager to get out of the door and up and ready on these days because I want to spend as much time at the beach as possible. My first few Wednesdays here I have spent at the beach with the exception of last week when me and 3 of my friends took a day trip to Punta del Este. Coincidentally, I still spent the day at the beach just a slightly nicer beach with different scenery than Montevideo :) I hope to turn my mid-week break into more of an exploring day to take advantage of the rest of the city I have to see.


Thursday/Jueves:

Unlike Wednesday, Thursday is jammed pack with classes. I start my day off with my Rio de la Plata (People & Culture) Course, have an hour long break to grab lunch at the Pizzeria near the university with my good pal Max (also a fellow Raider). After lunch I head to Agribusiness Marketing and learn way more than I'd like to about agriculture but still learning a lot!! Following Agri-Marketing is my composition course and my last course of the week. Sometimes it's a little hard to push through this one because it's been such a long day but I always do :)

Friday/Viernes:

Fridays are another free day for me. So like any other normal person would.. I spend it at the beach. Most of my other friends have classes, so I usually head down and hang out by myself (sorry mom & mamaw!!). Fridays are a good way for me to soak up the relaxation and enjoy me time. I rarely have a moment more than an hour by myself back home and I've found it's extremely important to allow yourself to be alone sometimes. I do things I enjoy because I want to not because it's what I'm being told to do. I read, write, listen to music, workout, and just sit in silence. It's AMAZING.


Saturday &Sunday/Sabado y Domingo:

Weekends vary around here. Sometimes I sight see or go the the ferias (flea-market of sorts), sometimes I sleep all day until we go out, and others I visit a different city. Just depends but they're always eventful! The weekends are usually what I tend to write about because I have the most time to explore.


Well that wraps up the day to day activities, I hope you enjoyed learning a bit of what I do on a daily basis!!


P.S. - Stay tuned for a video recap of my week, I'll be posting next Saturday :)

Xoxo,

LeAnne





37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page